PDF: < https://sanctionskill.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/39SanctionedCountries3.pdf  >

doc.x: < https://sanctionskill.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/39SanctionedCountries.docx >

(Sanctioned countries at bottom; text & list as of Fall 2019 – with update February 2022. Map  and/or listing may be slightly outdated.)


 Sanctions are essentially the imposition of arbitrary measures of economic and inhumane hardship on a country. US sanctions affect a third of humanity with more than 8,000 measures impacting 39 countries. Economic sanctions are also known as embargoes.

The complexity of the various pieces of legislation covering economic sanctions are outlined in the Fact Sheet on this site: https://sanctionskill.org/resources-2/

The countries imposing economic sanctions are the wealthiest, the most powerful, and the most industrially developed countries in the world. The intention is to choke the economies of poor, developing countries, most of which were formerly colonized. The sanctions, as well as visiting extreme hardship upon the civilian population, are intended to serve as a dire threat to surrounding countries, as they impact the economies of the whole region.

International law and conventions, including the Geneva and Nuremberg Conventions, United Nations Charter and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, explicitly prohibit the targeting of defenseless civilians, especially in times of war.

Modern industrial society is built on a fragile web of essential technology. Pumps and sewage lines, elevators and generators cant function without simple spare parts. Lack of a few spare parts can overwhelm entire cities. If farmers are denied seed, fertilizer, field equipment and storage facilities, and if food, medicine and essential equipment are deliberately denied, an entire country is quickly put at risk.

Sanctions cannot be posed as an alternative to war. They are in fact the most brutal form of warfare, deliberately targeting the most defenseless civilians the young, the elderly, sick and disabled people.

Most sanctions are intentionally hidden; they dont generate even a line of news. Some sanctions are quickly brought into law after a sudden news article about an alleged atrocity. The civilians who suffer have nothing to do with whatever crime the corporate media use as an excuse. Never mentioned are the economic or political concessions the U.S. government or corporations are demanding.

In a period of human history when hunger and disease are scientifically solvable, depriving hundreds of millions from getting basic necessities is a crime against humanity.

Below are several links to both U.S. and EU countries that use this form of economic warfare. The U.S. far exceeds any other country in the number of countries they have strangled with economic sanctions. (As of Fall 2019.)

US measures in force (OFAC)
US measures in force (BIS)
US measures in force (DoS)

EU measures in force


The Venezuelan ambassador to the United Nations, Samuel Moncada, spoke to the XVIII Summit of the Non-Aligned Movement held in Baku, Azerbaijan, Oct. 26, 2019. Addressing the 120 countries represented, he denounced the imposition of arbitrary measures, called sanctionsby the U.S., as economic terrorism, which affects a third of humanity with more than 8,000 measures in 39 countries.

This terrorism, he said, constitutes a threat to the entire system of international relations and is the greatest violation of human rights in the world.

Countries facing economic sanctions include:

November 2021- Ethiopia & Eritrea added; February 2022 – Laos added. Map and/or listing may be slightly outdated.)
40. Ethiopia; 41. Eritrea; 42. Laos
1.    Afghanistan,
2.    Belarus,
3.    Bosnia and Herzegovina,
4.    Burundi,
5.    Central African Republic,
6.    China (PR),
7.    Comoros, 
8.    Crimea Region of Ukraine,
9.    Cuba,
10.  Cyprus,
11. Democratic Republic of the Congo,
12. Guinea,
13. Guinea Bissau,
14. Haiti,
15. Iran,
16. Iraq,
17. Kyrgyzstan,
18. Laos,
19. Lebanon,
20. Libya,
21. Mali
22. Mauritania
23. Moldova
24. Montenegro
25. Myanmar,
26. Nicaragua,
27. North Korea – DPRK,
28. Palestinian Territories,
29. Russia,
30. Rwanda,
31. Serbia
32. Somalia,
33. South Sudan,
34. Sudan,
35. Syria,
36. Tunisia
37. Venezuela,
38. Yemen,
39. Zimbabwe.